Doubt

If you’re a Christian, the devil has one very effective weapon against you, doubt. If he can get us to continually beg for mercy, forgiveness, love, acceptance, healing, etc., then we will rarely see that Jesus has given us these things through his victory on the cross. Don’t get me wrong, there is a healthy desperation to have the “Spirit of wisdom and of revelation in the knowledge of him” (Eph 1). Meaning, to grow into our understanding of what he’s really done in us and for us and what kind of life is possible now.

So many of us think that practically, what Jesus did is either too good to be true or unattainable in our everyday practical lives. This is exactly what the devil wants you to believe and he will work hard to plant thoughts that reinforce this. Our circumstances will often contradict God.

Our greatest weapon for this is keeping our thoughts and affections on Jesus and learning to wield the Word of God (called the sword of the Spirit in Ephesians). This is what Jesus did…well, he focused on his Father rather than himself. πŸ™‚

So when I feel rejected, I put my thoughts toward Jesus and declare, “He has made me accepted in the Beloved.” — Ephesians 1:6. In fact, we are “now called sons of God.” Eph 1:5

If I miss the mark (sin), not when, but if…I declare that “we have an advocate with the Father…Jesus Christ…he is the sacrifice that took away our sins” 1 John 2.

If I don’t understand why something is happening and it’s really frustrating, I turn to Jesus and ask him to help me “trust in him with all my heart, and lean not on my understanding. In all your ways acknowledge him and he will make your path straight.” Proverbs 3:5-6

If I need healing in my body, which I do. I declare that “he bore our sickness and carried our pains.” And “by his wounds, we are healed.” Isaiah 53:4-5
I know that this is hard one. But despite my lack of breakthrough in my life and my friends’ lives, I refuse to let my experience trump what Jesus says is paid for. So I’m continually asking God to help me grow up in this amazing truth of what he’s done for me because it’s the “truth that sets us free.” I don’t condemn myself for not getting it yet because there is “no condemnation for those in Jesus.” Romans 8:1 But I “hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they will be filled.” (Matthew 5:6). Meaning, hunger and thirst for your righteousness (right standing, restored innocence) in Jesus that he gave you through what he finished on the cross.

So my encouragement to all of us, including myself, is don’t let the enemy continue to dupe you. “Take every thought to obey Christ.”

Read this: 4 “For the weapons of our warfare are not of the flesh but have divine power to destroy strongholds. 5 We destroy arguments and every lofty opinion raised against the knowledge of God, and take every thought captive to obey Christ, 6 being ready to punish every disobedience, when your obedience is complete.” 1 Corinthians 10:4-6

Jesus, may we walk in everything you paid for us to be!

Leave a Reply

