Conferences Are Crucial

A few years back, I sensed the Holy Spirit urging us to pursue conferences here at the Vineyard, and after prayer and consideration of the staff here, we launched our first More Love More Power Conference in 2011.  Since then, we’ve had 5 amazing conferences that have been life-changing and purpose-giving for the hundreds that have attended.  But why are conferences so important?

I’ve always said that any time you take several days in a row and say, “Jesus, have Your way with me.  Move me further into my calling, my purpose. Help me know You more,” He takes you seriously!  In a nutshell, conferences help serve that purpose.  They are intense catalytic events that empower and equip you to walk out your calling and thrive in your relationship with Jesus.

Personally, in almost every conference, I have experienced an intense boost in my connection with Jesus and have received a deeper understanding in what I was made to do.  I’ve also received some major breakthroughs.  I remember one time in particular.

Early in my relationship with Jesus, I was struggling with depression.  Every time I was alone, everything spiraled downward.  I didn’t want to be around people.  It was bad.  The last thing I wanted to do was go to a conference.  At that time, we would periodically host young adult conferences and there was one going on that weekend.  I sensed strongly that the Holy Spirit wanted me to go, but I argued.  I didn’t want to be around people and I didn’t think anything would help me.  However, the sense from the Holy Spirit was strong so I decided to go.

In the very first session the conference speaker described his journey of and deliverance from depression.  It was like he was talking directly to me, and of course, I was trying to hold back from losing it.  Needless to say, God had my number and that night I was totally set free.  It was amazing, to say the least!  This is just one of many stories I have personally experienced during conferences.

It’s important to note that conferences aren’t everything.  What you do in your daily walk with Jesus is just as important, if not more!  However, conferences play a crucial catalytic role that will significantly propel you forward.  And when you’re able to implement these empowering times into your daily life, you will see amazing fruit!

Leave a Reply

