Seeking Jesus

Jesus has really been challenging me lately to seek him more.  For some reason it’s just so easy to keep a steady pace but not really press in for more.  Maybe that’s called the status quo.  The problem for me is that I’m just not satisfied with that.  I feel empty or like something is missing.  The irony is I do spend time with Jesus, and I spend considerable time serving in His name.  But…these aren’t the same thing.  The challenge for me as a pastor is work doesn’t equate with relationship.  I don’t necessarily know Him more just because I’m serving.

I was reading this week in the One Year Bible about King Asa’s rule.  In one scene, Azariah spoke under the power of the Spirit and said…”The Lord will stay with you as long as you stay with him!  Whenever you seek him, you will find him.”  Later on 2 Chronicles says, ” Then they entered into a covenant to seek the Lord, the God of their ancestors, with all their heart and soul.”

I guess I feel Jesus calling me into a deeper covenant with him…to seek him with all my heart and soul.  It’s like I know this stuff in my mind, but it’s not always translating to action. I know there’s more.  I know there’s a deeper level of intimacy where all of my decisions and actions come out of my intimate relationship with Jesus.  It’s that walk-in-the-garden-with-God, pray-without-ceasing thing.  I just feel discontent without this.  I guess that’s a good thing, right?

Later on, King Asa missed it.  He started looking to his own ingenuity and wisdom rather than making decision out of relationship with God.  I don’t want to miss it.  I don’t want to base what I say and do from my experience, but out of my relationship with Jesus.  One verse really stood out to me here: “The eyes of the Lord search the whole earth in order to strengthen those whose hearts are fully committed to him” (2 Chron. 16:9).

Jesus, help me be fully committed to you…to proactively seek you with all of my heart and my soul.

Peace out peeps…

Leave a Reply

