superficial relationships?

It’s one of those evenings that I feel incomplete.  I’m not sure if it’s a bread truck Monday or it’s just my feelings of uneasiness after speaking on something I’m still really processing.  Tonight I spoke on covenant relationships and tried to define the nature of covenant.  I think it was a start.  If I had to summarize:

  • Our relationships were made to be eternal, not the temporal ones we see all around us and in our lives
  • Jesus sets the foundation for these eternal relationships, these covenant relationships with his disciples modeling that we are to lay our lives down for each other (if you go, I go, and if we go, we all go…and I’m not going and neither are you)
  • Jesus strengthens covenant in the midst of betrayal because covenant is based on him, not on us (which he explains during the Passover dinner) (John 13, Matthew 26)
  • Broken covenants are a main goal of our enemy (John 10:10), keeping us from truly entering into covenant relationships

That’s the gist.  However, I’m not sure if I directly hit the main barriers in our specific community.  Broken covenants (relationships) are one of Satan’s main goals in our lives.  But what I sense from the Holy Spirit is that superficial relationships are a bigger barrier keeping us from true covenant.

Are we joined/glued/cemented together by Jesus or just by common interest?  Are we intentionally grabbing onto each other so we don’t fall?  When we leave each other’s company, are we strengthened, encouraged, or even challenged (Colossians 3:16)?  Or did we just waste time?  Are we building relationships where we would literally give our lives for each other?  Maybe that’s too intense, but I don’t think so.  The intensity of a covenant relationship is just what Jesus modeled for us.

It takes a lot of time to build relationships like this, but why do anything else?

Of course, I’m still processing and working this through.  Who knows what I’ll even think tomorrow.  🙂  Sometimes I just have to trust that Jesus is big and that he will do what he needs to do, even when I miss the mark.

Peace.

Leave a Reply

