metaphors: leaving time to grow…

When I read the Bible, I come across lots of metaphors.  Jesus used them, Paul used them…they’re all over the place.  I find it fascinating how many metaphors they use that relate to nature.  Of course, they’re talking to farmers most of the time so I’m sure they could relate much better.  I guess I’m beginning to understand their context much better now and why Jesus and others used these metaphors.

Living in Urbana has been really cool.  Almost every house around us has some sort of garden.  Katie decided to jump in the mix and plant one.  We’ve had some good bonding moments with our neighbors over it.  They’re teaching us a lot.  I was not really into it at first and didn’t want much to do with it.  But as we’ve been moving forward I’ve started to jump on board.  Katie did a lot of the ground work, digging, planting, etc.  I helped haul and spread some top soil and now I’m helping take care of it, which mostly involves watering.

As I’ve been working at this, I feel like Jesus has been speaking to me through this process.  This is the verse he highlighted to me today:

We are only God’s servants through whom you believed the Good News. Each of us did the work the Lord gave us. 6 I planted the seed in your hearts, and Apollos watered it, but it was God who made it grow. 7 It’s not important who does the planting, or who does the watering. What’s important is that God makes the seed grow. (1 Cor. 3:5-7)

Katie planted, I helped spread some soil, we watered, even God watered it with all the rain we had.  And then we just had to wait, and wait, and wait.  What astonished me today was after 5 days of no rain, no watering, nothing really, little sprouts have come up and are now really flourishing.  Look:

 Our Garden

It’s like we did all the prep we could, but then we just had to wait for it grow.  As I was noticing that today, Jesus was speaking to me through it.  He said I can plant seeds, and water and water, but then I have to wait, just wait.  And He will make it grow.  Sometimes you have to wait a long time, as you can see from the other rows.  I guess I know this already, but for some reason actually experiencing this through nature has made me believe it more.  As the sun has just been shining this whole week, they are really starting to grow.

This metaphor is directly relating to people I know.  I’ve planted seeds, other people have planted seeds, we’ve watered and will continue to water every once in a while, but we have to leave time for God to grow them.  This is God’s thing.  Sometimes it’s like, will this ever happen?  But when we wait, it does, and it’s awesome!  I’m starting to see this in a few people’s lives I know, including my own.  🙂  The moral?  Leave time to grow.

So…. metaphors, nature, Jesus… cool.

Leave a Reply

