people pleasing

I read the One Year Bible reading plan and today I read this passage in Luke:

19 The teachers of religious law and the leading priests wanted to arrest Jesus immediately because they realized he was telling the story against them—they were the wicked farmers. But they were afraid of the people’s reaction.

But they were afraid of the people’s reaction.  I remember reading this about the Pharisees in several passages… always concerned with what people thought… it drove their actions more than anything else.  In their case they were so driven by their pride and fear of man, they were blinded to the truth.  When you think about this, it’s a sobering reality.

I’ve received a lot of freedom in this area and still have a long way to go.  I consistently have to ask Jesus for wisdom in situations so that I do what He wants, not what people want.  I tell ya… you’re not very popular, but whew… it’s so worth it. 

Jesus, thanks for teaching me how to listen and simply obey.  Help me be even bolder to say and do what you ask.

Leave a Reply

