seeking and pressing in

Here’s what Jesus was saying to me the other morning… thought I would share it here.

Jesus has been leading me to continued desperation for him. For some reason this has been hard, especially when I haven’t been feeling well, like in the past week (feeling good now ๐Ÿ™‚ I easily resort to just doing life, normal, everyday, which has Jesus in it at some level. Last night for me was great though as I realized how much I need him… I began to hunger again. I read Joshua this morning and it related to what I’ve been going through…

Joshua 9:14 — “So the Israelites examined their food, but they did not consult the Lord.” — If you know this story, they tried to figure out things for themselves and messed up. I sense that this is the time we’re in. We could just try to figure things out for ourselves, or we can consult the Lord, seek him, press in. Afterwards, Joshua did that, he consulted the Lord, over and over, and what happened was amazing to me…

Joshua prayed: “Let the sun stand still ober Gibeon, and the moon over the valley of Aijalon….So the sun stood still and the moon stayed in place…There has never been a day like this one before or since, when the Lord answered such a prayer.”

I believe Jesus is saying, seek him, consult him, don’t just rest on what you know or you think you know. When we seek him like this, we will see amazing things…”even greater things because He is going to be with the Father.”

Jesus spoke to me more this morning as I read in Luke 17. I think they fit together…cause there are no coincidences. ๐Ÿ˜‰ There’s something about just serving that Jesus is saying to us. We just seek and serve:
7 โ€œWhen a servant comes in from plowing or taking care of sheep, does his master say, โ€˜Come in and eat with meโ€™? 8 No, he says, โ€˜Prepare my meal, put on your apron, and serve me while I eat. Then you can eat later.โ€™ 9 And does the master thank the servant for doing what he was told to do? Of course not. 10 In the same way, when you obey me you should say, โ€˜We are unworthy servants who have simply done our duty.โ€™โ€
There’s a big level of humility that Jesus is calling us to. I think many times we think, or I think anyway, what’s in it for me. Thankfully, it’s usually after the fact, but it’s still there, and this is the time to humble ourselves as simply say, we are unworthy servants who have simply done our duty.

When we hold all of this in tension, seeking him in humility, pressing in when we don’t necessarily need him… I see the Kingdom breaking in…big time.

Jesus, reign on us…rain on us….reign on us.

Leave a Reply

