reflections on the new year

Fresh Wind for the New Year

One might say, reflections? how can you reflect on the new year when this is the first day. I dunno the real answer to that question, I just am.

Reflection #1
I woke up this morning troubled. Interesting way to first wake up in 2007, but I did. Why? Last night we had a worship and prayer service in lieu of having the normal service. We called it Fresh Wind for the New Year. It was pretty cool to see so many people show up…Center Stage was probably as full as it could be…it gets pretty hot in there with that many people 🙂 We were prepared to sing some songs to God, then take communion together, sing some more, then have some prayer slides for people to pray through, and the finish with celebratory songs. Adam did a great job sharing about communion and, of course, with that many people, communion took about 10 minutes, leaving us no time for the prayer slides. So I made a decision to skip ahead to the celebratory songs and end the evening. With All of My Heart was the last song, based on the verses on the greatest commandment: Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength. So…I ended the song and said Happy New Year everyone, thanks for coming, have a great evening celebrating. I wanted to end with an up beat and with celebration. And also not be too far past the 7pm ending time, which I did.

So…you’re asking the question…ok dude…you said you woke up troubled, what’s the deal? Well, I realized by wanting to make sure I ended on time and end upbeat, I really wasn’t being sensitive to what God was leading me to do. I woke up this morning with the prayer I needed to have said to close the evening, and an ache in my gut that said that ended like more of a concert than leading people into the presence of God. I also wanted to invite people up for prayer and I didn’t announce it, something I felt led to do, but for the sake of time, just ended the evening. I feel I may have missed some of what God was doing and most liekly why I woke up this morning feeling troubled and asking him for forgiveness. Am I being to sensitive? Maybe… but when it comes to worship, I would rather lean on that side than the other. There were, however, many moments throughout the evening that peeps were really engaging with God…that was really cool to participate in. What did I learn from this reflection?

Just do what I feel the Holy Spirit leading me to do, don’t worry about time or program…and…the next time I do something like this, leave some flexibility in the schedule. 🙂  Listen and obey…hmmm…I feel like I’ve heard that before somewhere. 😉

2 thoughts on “reflections on the new year

  1. Great reflection. I suppose we could have put more flexibility into it, but I think it worked out nicely, other than the abrupt ending, as you said.

    I was glad to see some of the Sunday@6 crew getting up to help when Communion was running low. You’ve got a great team under you. 😉

  2. Just wanted to say that I’m sure that people felt led to worship, pray and thank God because of you. You do wonderful things! I hope that 2007 will be a great year for you, I wish you all the best.

    Nathalie

Leave a Reply

