my computer: the last days


Well, it looks like my laptop is truly on its last breath… tonight it took me almost 45 minutes to get it working. 😦 It’s been a great laptop and has lasted me almost 5 1/2 years, but alas, the time has come for a new one. Of course, there is never an opportune time to purchase a laptop, they’re just expensive, but I don’t want to wait until it’s completly dead before I get a new one and since much of my livelyhood involves a computer, it must be done. Oh well. So the search really begins.

I’ve been looking at some reviews out there and nothing has jumped out yet. I will be continuing down PC land… I know all you Mac lovers will say, “Oh, he’ll never learn,” but there are pros and cons to each and it’s easier and cheaper to stick with a PC. So it’s a sad day for good ole lappy. If anyone has any good articles or reviews on laptops, please send them my way…

Here are my current laptop’s general specs:
Pentium 3 650 mhz
384 MB RAM
40 Gb hard drive (it came with 10GB… ha!)
DVD player (no burner, etc.)

so, to say the least, a new laptop will be a very big upgrade.

peace out

5 thoughts on “my computer: the last days

  1. Hey Daniel – give me a call – I have a 3-month-old Inspiron 6000 that’s looking for a new home. It’s Pentium M (Dothan) 1.73GHz, 533MHz FSB, 1 GB RAM, 15.4″ WSXGA+ 128MB ATI video, 9-cell (hi-cap) battery, 60GB fast (7200RPM) HD, 802.11b/g + bluetooth, DVD+/-RW, Office 2003 SB Edition, nylon case. Has 3-yr next business day replacement support, nights/weekends tech support, and complete care accidental breakage coverage, all transferable, through Dec 2008. It’s in perfect functional and cosmetic shape, no dead pixels, etc. It’s a great laptop – and I approach 4 hrs on a single charge if I turn off wireless, etc. Cat bought me a killer mobile workstation so I don’t need this laptop anymore.

    I do need to recover some of the $ invested, as we spent way too much money over the holidays, so I can’t give this to you outright. But I’ll take $0.50 on the dollar, or something like it.

    309 578 7259 w
    309 370 5835 c

  2. Have fun picking a new laptop! You’re so right about there never being a good time to buy one. Even so, sadly, I have a feeling that unless I find some unexpected source of dollars, it will be months until I can afford one.

  3. Interesting that you say that Roger. πŸ™‚ That website seems to be based on a lot of opinion. The fact is, I like macs, especially their software… but PCs are just as easy for me to use and now with XP, just as stable… so there’s no reason to switch. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

