some changes are coming…

This is the first picture that came up under a google image search... nice well… today I officially accepted the interim young adult pastor position. This is kind of an involved story so I will give a brief overview… here goes…

Back in october in my prayer times, I was hearing that God wanted me to stay here. At the time I was probably 85% sure that he was leading me to go on a church plant with the young adult pastor, Tony. So it was really hard to hear, “i want you to stay.” As time went on though, I heard his voice louder and louder and I was even hearing God speak to me about stuff for 703… maybe even leading it. So, I eventually told Tony and the head pastors, to see if there was confirmation.

I know that God has been preparing me for a lot of things over the past few years. One of the main things has been worship, which has been amazing and I have developed quite passion for. But I’ve also sensed and been challenged in other areas he wants to use me in, like preaching and teaching, mentoring and counseling, raising up leaders. He’s used me in these things on a small scale and I thought if I do more in these areas, it will probably be in the future, like in 5 years or so.

Recently, they offered the young adult pastor position to another candidate. I was holding everything very loosely so when they told me I was a little disappointed, but mostly I was just glad to hear some confirmation either way, and I assumed I had heard wrong about the 703 stuff. Well… Jesus works in mysterious ways… and it seems the other candidate declined the position. Things that make you go, hmmmm.

So… this is where what God was speaking to me about comes in and they offered me this interim pastor position, which basically means they will do a nationwide search for a young adult pastor, of which I will be a part of, and until that person is chosen, I will head up an interim preaching team and pastor GodSearch. They hope to make a decision by the end of the year.

There’s quite a bit more details to the story… but… As I’ve dialogued through this with wise leaders, friends, and prayed a lot, I think this is where God is leading and what He’s doing. I know I will be challenged a lot and there’s a lot of change coming ahead, but I’m pretty excited about it.

I think Jesus still has many things to do with this young adult community. Right now I know it feels like so many people are leaving, but I think Jesus knows what He’s doing. I think this is a time he has prepared many of us for, to step out and take risks and let Him use us in ways we never thought would happen.

So… here we go!

peace out.

3 thoughts on “some changes are coming…

  1. Hi There,

    I was looking for images of the screaming banshee, and for some reason your website (blog) came up, but no pictures of the screaming banshees. I was looking for it because I saw some on Hallmark.com’s website (really funny card)! I really like your website. I also love how you attribute all of your life’s blessings to God; isn’t He the Greatest?! Well, wanted to also add that I hope you have a Happy Valentine’s Day! πŸ™‚ Take care! Diala

Leave a Reply

