Long time no post

Christmas in FL
It’s been a long time since I’ve posted last so I thought I would write a little bit. Things don’t slow down much for me, but I did have a good break from my classes in VLI and from teaching at IWU. I just started those again this week so this will be my first full week back.

I did go down to FL for a very short trip. The pic above is of my mom’s tree. I hardly took any pics when I was there… strange. It was a nice trip, but the trip down there was very interesting. I drove down with my friends Roger and Jackie right after that huge winter storm. It was crazy! We thought we could avoid most of the effects of the storm by taking I-57 to I-24 through Nashville. Wrong! A drive that normally takes 6 hours took us 21 hours! That’s right, 21 hours. Crazy huh? I was going to write and describe the trip to you, but I thought I would point out Jackie’s recollection of the trip. I think it paints a “nice” picture of what happened. Here’s the link: Jackie’s Blog.

If you click on “more” below, you can read that article about the winter storm effects we were driving in…

HOPKINSVILLE — A crippling mix of ice and snow left drivers stranded on highways and prompted many people to bundle up in their homes today for an early Christmas break.
Wednesday’s storm dumped approximately 5 inches of ice and snow in Christian County, according to the National Weather Service.
Driving conditions today across western Kentucky remained hazardous. The region was under a blowing snow advisory.
Dee Hopper, director of the Emergency Operations Center, said road conditions were as bad as anything she’s seen here in 26 years.
“I don’t see the road conditions improving at all today because throughout the day the temperature is expected to drop even more, and what’s already on the ground is going to stay,” Hopper said.
Drivers were stranded on portions of Interstate 24 and Edward T. Breathitt Parkway. The westbound on-ramp of 1-24 was shut down at Fort Campbell Boulevard.
Police responded to 46 wrecks in Hopkinsville between early morning and mid-afternoon Wednesday. More than 100 vehicles were reported off the road or stuck in the snow across Christian County. Emergency dispatchers answered more than 600 calls.
The Hopkinsville Police Department pulled most of its cruisers off the streets and used a four-wheel driver Chevrolet Blazer to respond to motorists in distress.
In Trigg County, sheriff’s officials, Cadiz police and the National Guard rescued stranded motorists on I-24 and drove them to Cadiz hotels and a shelter set up by the Trigg County Red Cross.
About 150 people spent Wednesday night at the Trigg County High School gymnasium. The Red Cross set up the shelter to help people forced off the interstate. Many had been traveling to Florida for the Christmas holiday.
At the Cadiz Holiday Inn at 1-24, about 150 people slept in hallways and every vacant space hotel employees could find to accommodate the overflow of stranded travelers. Nearby at the Super 8 motel, about 75 people spent the night. Several people had to sleep overnight in their vehicles in the motel parking lot.
Bob Pollock, owner of Clearview Service Station in Hopkinsville, said he had a dicey drive into town this morning from his home on Princeton Road.
“I had to shovel a little bit, and a couple of guys pushed me, and I got in,” he said.
Teresa Igo lives on Russellville Road and drove into work this morning at Kroger. She said she saw several cars off the road on her drive in.
“I was wishing I still had my truck this morning. It wasn’t too bad. My car was just hitting the bottom of it and it was a little slick,” Igo said.
Diane Ipock, the new postmaster in LaFayette, spent Wednesday night in the Post Office. Ipock, who lives in Madisonville, didn’t want to risk leaving the Post Office closed today.
Several people brought her food and called during the night to check on her.
“It’s just that the Post Office is an essential office,” she said. “Everybody expects the Post Office to be open during hours.”
Most church services were canceled Wednesday night.
In Todd County, approximately 1,000 Pennyrile Electric customers were without power Wednesday night.
Another outage affected 300 customers from noon until 3 a.m. today in the St. Elmo, Bradshaw Road and Long Pond Road areas of Christian County.
Hopkinsville Electric System reported an outage for about 400 customers on Greenville Road, Butler Road and Belmont Hill areas. The outage occurred around 8 p.m. and lasted one hour.
Jennifer P. Brown can be reached by telephone at 887-3236 or by e-mail at jpbrown@kentuckynewera.com.
Editor’s note — Staff writers Christine Tognetti, Tonya Grace, Scott Burnside and Sandra Myers contributed to this story.

-http://www.kentuckynewera.com1

Leave a Reply

