a metamorphosis

My friend Mark from church has been recording some of our worship sets at 703. I don’t like to listen to the sets every week (mostly because I’m too critical), but I think once every few weeks it is beneficial. What I don’t like about our sound system is that it really flattens out the sound, making it sounds muffled and it sounds like I’m singing with a tennis ball in the back of my throat. Probably a bit of an exaggeration, but that’s my criticalness coming out. It would be cool to get recordings of what people are actually hearing and not a direct and muffled feed from the system. There was a time back in September that I brought a mic and recorded a practice of just myself and my guitar plugged in through the system. That’s how I’ve really noticed the difference from a recording from within the sound system and from outside it.

This is an excerpt from that practice in September:
Amazing Love (You are my King) — You may have to right click and Save Target As to hear this

I guess what I’ve noticed is that there has been a definite change in my voice since I started leading worship at 703. I think it mainly began vocally when Jim Wood said to me: “You can tell you’ve been classically trained.” I think that made me start to really risk and experiment. It’s interesting to come from a classical background and start singing this type of music. The odd thing is that I think I was made for this type of music and to do what I’m doing right now.

I know I have a long way to go, and loooooooong way… but even though I still struggle with bits of pride and vainness, which makes we want to just give it up, I know that that’s not the answer and this is what God has called me to do.

2 thoughts on “a metamorphosis

  1. Wow! Your voice has change! You sound great! It is a more suited sound for this type of music. I am also impressed on how far you’ve come playing the guitar. I’m really proud of you Daniel! Gotta run….

    Lurv,

    Nathalie xox

  2. WOW!! Your voice is amazing!! I’ve read on your website about your Opera training and your 703 service. But, I’ve never actually had the privlege to hear you perform. God truly has blessed you with an amazing talent! I’m glad that you are able to praise and worship him through your voice and the 703 Services.
    I’m hoping that I will be able to hear you sing this Spring when I’m in the Chicago area. I’m planning a couple of trips out to your church:)
    I miss our friendship DanielBoy:) Drop me a line sometime or call me and let me know how you are doing and what’s been going on in your life. I would love to hear from you:)
    Take Care & God Bless!
    NancyIris

Leave a Reply

