An Update…

I saw this on the web and thought how cool and scary this would be if I were driving down the road and saw this. This is in Kankakee, Illinois, which is about an hour north of here. The light you see is the tornado hitting a bunch of power transformers. Crazy!

I’ve been thinking that I need to take like 10 minutes every couple of days and update this Blog, or what’s the point of having it. πŸ™‚

What’s been happening?
I recently finished at IWU for the summer. I’m going to be teaching privately throughout the summer so I hope that can suppliment me for the summer. We’ll see…

Yesterday I was given the reigns for 703 worship, the young adult service at the Vineyard, so I’ll now lead and oversee the bands there. I’m excited to step into this position and see how God grows me through it. I know I have many things to bring to this position, but I also know I have many things to learn and grow from it.

VLI
VLI is going well. Our semester class is on Evangelism: Domestic and Cross-Cultural with 2 intensives on Johannine Literature and Theology and General Literature and Theology. So far the class is pretty interesting and I’m starting to like the book from the class: Evangeslism: Outside the Box by Rick Richardson. We’re also doing a Preaching/Teaching class where I have to give and receive critiques on 3 15-minute sermons. I’m a little nervous about it, but several people have identified in me not only a teaching gift (which I do see) but a preaching gift as well. So I’m willing to risk and see where God leads me. I will say there are times I have a passion to communicate and invoke change in people’s hearts.

My eye
Many of you have wondered about my eye, the surgery, how it’s healing. The doctor feels the surgery was a success. He feels it tracks as good as it is able. Other people have mentioned that it tracks much better than it used to. I’m thankful that God has blessed the surgery and the healing process. Of course, I still doubt whether I should have done it in the first place. πŸ˜‰ There’s still quite a bit of irritation on the inner and outer part of the eye. I learned that there are permanent stitches in those places and that is why there is irritation, but in time the irritation will most likey go away. Thank you all for your prayers! Please continue to pray for the irritation to leave.

This Summer
This summer will be very stretching for me! I already mentioned the VLI classes and 703 worship. I’ll also be heading up another Young Adult Alphaand attending the Midwest Regional Vineyard Conference, both of which should be a great time of growth for me. I also will be helping lead a mission trip in Germany again this summer.

Germany
God has been doing some amazing things in Germany. One key development from last summer was the beginning of a youth group that has been successfully meeting on Monday evenings throughout the year. Bruce and Darla, my close friends that are missionaries there, have been working with materials from Youth For Christ, Germany and have seen some dramatic changes in the lives of the youth their and in the lives of those they are discipling. When the Vineyard worship CD and DVD Dwell came out here, I thought it would be a great addition to their evening meetings and sent it to them. They said it had a great impact on them, and opened them up to some culturally relevant music. God has called me to return this summer for 3 weeks to help lead the Outreach there, assist in discipleship training, worship, and teaching. Please pray for God’s provision for this trip and for us all to be transformed from God’s work there! Click here to see pictures from last summer.

Leave a Reply

