Interesting developments…

Well, I went to the eye doctor today to see about a possible operation for my right eye. If you don’t know what happened, when I was 5, I injured my eye with a knife cutting the plastic strap on my shoes (click on more below to read the full story). So… my vision in this eye is very weak (about 20/200), and as I’ve gotten older, the muscle has become weaker and weaker, especially when I’m tired (which seems to be a lot lately). πŸ™‚ Anyway, in the last year, I’ve started noticing a double image, one that my left eye sees strongly, and one my right eye barely sees. Since this happened so young, I don’t have the normal binocular vision that others have. About a month ago I found out there’s a surgery that can help align the muscles of the eye to correct the double vision. It’s funny cause I’ve looked several times before and have never found anything like that. Most cases are 80% successful. I really think God led me to this info and after talking to the doctor today, he thinks I would be a good candidate for the surgery and that it would be successful (sometimes the muscles return to the same problem, which mostly depends on vision strength). So… I will have 2 more appointments, and then if I feel like God is giving the ok, I’m going to do it.

I’ve received prayer for my eye on different occasions throughout my life, but in May, I was at the Carbondale Vineyard and Steve Morgan, the Senior Pastor, was praying for me. At the end of the praying he started praying for my eye. What does this have to do with the doctor? Well, Steve felt that God wants to heal my eye, which would be amazing. God was definitely doing something with it when he was praying for me. I think this might be a step the healing process. We shall see…

On a different note, I was at a Pastors Retreat this past Wednesday. One of the interesting things was Happy and Diane, Senior Pastors at the Vineyard here, we’re discussing the papers that Bert Waggoner wrote concerning the vision of the church. It was really insightful and awesome to see that there is a much broader vision for this movement, which encompasses the whole church, and that Vineyard is just a “part of the stew.” I love that mentality! We can be unique, but we are all the Body of Christ. The papers are a hard read, but check them out: Part 1 and Part 2

What happened to my eye?

When I was 5, I was coming back from the pool and lost a tennis shoe so my mom bought me some new ones. She was going out to dinner that night so she handed me the new shoes and told me to go downstairs and ask my Aunt to cut off the plastic strap holding them together. I thought I was big enough to handle this myself so I quietly went into the kitchen and started looking for the scissors. I opened all the drawers, but couldn’t find any scissors so I grabbed a knife. I went over to a kitchen chair, set my shoes on it, and proceeded to cut the strap up towards my face. I think you can guess what happened next.

Leave a Reply

